Herringbone’s Kale Salad

lherringboneFYI: I always order salads for lunch because I love being healthy , but its usually hard finding a salad I truly enjoy.

But for some reason, this day, I may have found my favorite salad.

I may as well have licked the plate clean. I couldn’t get enough.

So I reached out to their chef and, eventually. I got the recipe to share with all of you! (I’ve made a few little adaptions as always.)


 You will need:

1 sweet apple, cubed (I used a honey crisp apple)

2 tablespoons honey

1 cup plain Greek yogurt

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 tsp. sumac (or lemon pepper if you can’t find sumac)

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

organic kale

1/4 red onion, very thinly sliced

1 pomegranate

crunchy granola (cinnamon or vanilla)


DSCN2202DSCN2205First, you will need to roast your apples. Spread your small apple slices over a baking sheet and brush each slice with honey. Bake for 15 minutes at 375°.

In a small mixing bowl, combine your yogurt, olive oil, sumac (or lemon pepper) and cinnamon.

Chiffonade your kale (for a reminder how to do this, click here). Put all the kale in a large bowl. Massage the dressing you made all over the kale (yes, with your hands!).

Scoop the pomegranate seeds out of your pomegranate (about 1/2 the pomegranate’s seeds will be plenty). Toss with your salad.

Top the salad with your onion slices, granola and roasted apples. It’s ready to eat!

Let me know what you guys think!

DSCN2210DSCN2216DSCN2219DSCN2221

 

Leave a Reply

