In The Sea of Detox Teas…

We’ve all seen these detox teas, AKA “teatoxes,” making their way around instagram, right?

I’ve always, frankly, been kinda of turned off just by the sheer number of teatox brands. It’s overwhelming!

But I’ve also secretly been going, “Well, what’s up with these? Are they beneficial to your health? Do they work?”

Over the past few weeks. I’ve had kinda a lot going on. Between homework, internships, career and my future I sometimes forget to breathe. All of which have left me feeling a bit burned out and definitely left my immune system depleted.

So Bootea could not have timed their knock on my door any better.

DSCN2639

But before I took the teatox plunge, I wanted to do some research on tea’s health benefits and what to look for/avoid in detox teas. Here is what I learned:

  • Green teas are rich in antioxidants, which enhance your body’s natural cleansing process.
  • Herbs like lemongrass, ginger, and dandelion support a healthy liver, one of the organ’s responsible for natural detox.
  • Senna is an herbal laxative that helps to cleanse the intestines. Because of its strength, senna should only be used during a short cleanse (up to a few weeks) and not as part of a long-term, daily routine.
  • Teas should be used to cleanse in conjunction with a healthy, clean, unprocessed diet.

Bootea’s 14 Day Teatox consists of one cup of tea in the morning and one cup every other night. Pretty easy, so far!

The daytime tea’s ingredients include: Chinese Oolong (a green tea), ginger root, lemongrass, and dandelion. Check. Check. Check anddd check! It also includes Gotu Kola (an herbal cognitive enhancer), nettle leaves (anti-histamine, decongestant and anti-allergen) and ginseng root (helps balance blood sugar levels). All in all, a super tea!

The nighttime mixture is made up of senna, burdock root (antioxidant), peppermint (digestive aid) and valerian root (a sleep aid).

BTW all of these ingredients are natural and preservative free, which is obviously critical!

But what really sets Bootea apart for me: their cleanse is primarily focused on detoxifying the body of impurities, improving sleep quality, combatting lethargy and enhancing the appearance of skin. So this isn’t specifically a weight-loss cleanse like os many of the others (although it could be used that way too). I liked that Bootea could become an addition to, and enhance, my already healthy diet!

So I went for it! Today is day 3 of my cleanse and I’m already feeling a boost in my energy level. I’ll keep you all posted on my final thoughts and results!! If any of you decide to join me, I’d love to know how yours goes!

DSCN2647DSCN2643

 

Leave a Reply

