TO WEAR, OR NOT TO WEAR YOGA PANTS

yoga-women-sport

 

It goes without saying that all of us, at one time or another has, or will have a period of time in our life when our personal style is, for lack of a better term, bad. For me, it was a time in my twenties when I wore nothing but A-line skirts & a white t-shirt.

Needless to say, since then I have come into my own and as a result, my sense of style has evolved. For some however, this is not the case.  Enter Erica, a thirty something girlfriend of mine who, for as long as I can remember, has had a very cute, playful and put together sense of style.  However, just recently, she confessed to me that almost everyday of the week she finds herself in workout clothes.  Good for her, right?  NOPE.  She hasn’t worked out in a year.  And that, my friend, is a problem.  Here’s how I see it; wearing work out clothes when you’re not working out is like wearing hospital scrubs when you’re unemployed.  It’s false advertising and it’s bad for everyone.  Yes, when doing yoga, yoga pants are fantastic and absolutely appropriate but outside of that activity they are nothing but a crutch.  Not only do they lack any sort of shape or real style they scream “I’m lazy” which is so ironic.

So here is what I told my friend and I’m telling anyone else out there who has found themselves in this elastic waist rut.  If you have no intention of working out, do not put on your workout clothes.  This includes, but is not limited to:  Yoga pants, running shoes, sweat pants, sports bras and headbands.  If you’re intention is to do some sort of workout, give yourself an hour after putting on your clothes to do so.  If you haven’t worked out within that time, do yourself a favor and get into something that isn’t made of spandex.  Even if it’s a plain white tee, some boyfriend jeans and a cute belt, of course.

Yoga pants are like prescription drugs. When used properly and in moderation can really help your body, but if abused can be highly addictive and cause permanent damage.

Leave a Reply

