How to Decorate with Candles

I have a soft spot for delicate little details. Whether it’s a vintage trinket or an inspiring art print, my home is fill with pops of prettiness. If there’s one item that you’ll find in every room I decorate, it has to be candles. Not only do candles make for gorgeous décor, but I also love having a sweet smelling candle burning while I work, watch tv, have a drink with friends or make dinner. And because I am a little bit (ok, a lot) candle obsessed, I’m always on the lookout for new styles and scents.

Which brings me to my newest find…Bijou Candles. I discovered these stunning candles a few months ago, and ever since, I’ve completely fallen in love. These candles come in gorgeous pastel bowls that look like flower petals, and with scents like Pink BelliniFrench Lavender and Wild Lilac, they’ve instantly become a new favorite. The bowl of a Bijou Candle is made of 100% fire-retardant resin, making it unbreakable, easy to clean and reusable. Which means that once you’re done burning the candle, it turns into a beautiful bowl that you can use to store anything you’d like.

So, today I’m talking about one of our favorite interior design tricks: decorating your space with candles. I broke down how to style any kind of space with candles—from bookshelves, to coffee tables, to desks to kitchen countertops.

On Your Coffee Table…  

How to Decorate Your Coffee Table with Candles

I believe that coffee tables should be equal parts functional and stylish. Having a beautifully decorated coffee table comes into play when you’re relaxing after a long day, entertaining friends or simply watching your favorite TV show. On my coffee tables, I’ll always find a decorative tray to house my candles, trinkets and fresh flowers, and a stack of coffee table books topped with a pretty candle. A variety of candles not only add a sweet scent, but they also give the table a little bit of height and an added pop of color.

How to Decorate Your Coffee Table with Candles

Because, really, is there anything cozier than cuddling up on the couch with a glass of wine to watch your favorite TV show with a sweet smelling candle nearby?

As Desk Décor…

 

How to Decorate Your Desk with Candles

I find that the prettier my office space is, the more inspired I become while working. And candles are a guaranteed way to add that little dose of inspiration. I can either place a candle in a pretty gold tray off to the side of my work station (like the one pictured above), or simply set a few candles around my desk for an extra pop of pretty…

How to Decorate Your Desk with Candles

Also, I’ve found that I’m much more productive when I’ve got a few yummy candles burning and a good playlist going. Pictured above are some of my favorite scents: the Pink Bellini Bijou, the Blue Bamboo Petit Bijou and the Rose & Currant Petit Bijou. So pretty, right?

Styled on Bookshelves… 

LaurenConrad.com's Guide to Decorating with Candles

For myself, candles are a go-to décor accent when styling my bookshelves. You can stack them on top of books, group them together with your trinket collections, and even use them as bookends (if they’re large enough). Try to tie in the color of the books with the color of the candle you’ll be stacking on top of it or placing next to it.

How to Decorate Your Bookshelves with Candles

How pretty do these candles look styled in this gorgeous bookshelf? Try choosing candles in the same color family as the books you’re choosing, or just go with neutral colored candles, which will blend in well with any stack of books.

In the Kitchen…

How to Decorate with Candles in the Kitchen

When you’re setting up for a dinner party or simply preparing a meal for yourself, I love to create a cozy atmosphere with candles. They give the entire kitchen a glow, and also make for pretty cute décor. In a bright white kitchen, simply setting a couple of candles on the countertop can instantly elevate the look of the entire room.

How to Decorate with Candles in the Kitchen | LaurenConrad.com

I recently tried Bijou’s holiday candle collection and they instantly became my new favorites. The white candle is a Maple Apple scent (yum), and the pretty red one is Mulled Wine. They are perfect for any upcoming holiday season.

Leave a Reply

